Island Life

September 26, 2011 – Day 18 – 20 miles

Today was big time.  I didn’t log many miles, but I did a lot of other things, and had a blast the whole time.  This morning I met with Joe Nelson from KSAX TV in Alexandria, Minnesota.  We spent about 45 minutes together doing an interview both in the canoe and on shore.

I searched for a public library near the river and couldn’t find one, but I did meet a new friend who was more than ready to join in the adventure with me.  Garrett, keep planning, and don’t let the dream die!

Two hefty portages were also a part of the day.  After the second one I was so tired and hot that it just seemed fitting to hop in the river and try to wash up.  Fresh and clean with the sun low in the horizon I cruised to an island to make camp for the third night in a row.  I am way more excited about camping on islands than a normal person should be, but for many reasons I am enamored with the idea.

Island life.  Not in the Jimmy Buffet sense of the phrase, but in the Huck Finn master of the river sense.

“We said there warn’t no home like a raft. after all.  Other places do seem so cramped up and smothery, but a raft don’t.  You feel mighty free and easy and comfortable on a raft.” – Huckleberry Finn


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

