Here Comes the Sun

September 19, 2011 – Day 11 – 28 miles

Beautiful clear sky and warm sun all day.  Stopped in downtown Jacobson (a gas station named Mississippi Landing) to supplement my food supplies and stretch my legs.  At the wayside rest members of the Minneapolis Model A Club were giving their engines a rest and enjoying looking at the river in a very different state than how they see in in the city.  I got to gaze at around 40 Model A Ford’s while retired car enthusiasts ask me questions concerning my trip.  It seems that members of the club and I both share a passion for slow travel.

Late in the afternoon I crossed paths with the first fellow paddlers I’ve seen on the trip.  Kent and Laurie were on an afternoon stroll after spending all day harvesting honey from their hives.  The couple invited me to their handbuilt home (written by Laurie) just around the river bend for burritos and ice cream.

I feel really blessed to have met so many wonderful people during the course of my trip.  If there are two things that I crave while paddling for 10 hours a day it’s food and human interaction.  I’ve had lots of wonderful experiences where people have shared both of these things, and for that I will be forever grateful.

“Blow up your TV, throw away your paper                                                                                 Go to the country, build you a home.” – John Prine

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

