Flat Water

September 15, 2011 – Day 7 – 21 miles

Lake Winnibigoshish is the largest open body of water that the Mississippi River crosses.  The shortest distance from inlet to outlet is more than 14 miles.  That’s long enough to where you can’t see the other side, just an endless span of water infront of you.  I would not encourage anyone to attempt to cross it using human power.

I did, however, encourage meself to do so.  I checked the internet and spoke to several boaters and the winds today were supposed to be insignificant.  Paddling the first few miles of “Lake Winnie” was like paddling off into the ocean.  The weather report stayed true and I enjoyed a sunny and calm day on the lake, all the while receiving strange looks from fishermen.  I of course wore my life jacket the whole time, and kept checking my compass to ensure that I was heading to the dam on the most efficient route possible.

After the still water of Lake Winnibigoshish getting back on the current of the river felt incredibly fast.  I ended up sleeping at Crazy James’s Point. It’s flat terrain, pine needle forest floor, and high vantage point to view miles of river made it one of my favorite campsites yet.

“A ship is safe in the harbor, but that’s not what ships are built for.” – William Shedd

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

