Beef – It’s What’s for Dinner

September 16, 2011 – Day 8 – 26.5 miles

Due to nightly lows around the high 20’s I awoke to frost for the third day in a row today.  I know that the morning sun will quickly melt it away, but that thought alone doesn’t make it easy to leave the warmth of a sleeping bag on mornings like this.

I’m glad I got the chance to cross Winnie when I did.  Had it been a day later or earlier then the wind would be such a hazard that I would have to hug against one of the shores – making my tranverse much longer.  Today was my biggest mileage day yet, and I made it to camp with plenty of sunlight to enjoy.  I camped in the Schoolcraft State Park and had neighbors for the first time on this trip.

A group of men from a local church were spending a few days staying at the state park fishing for Walleyes and Northern Pikes.  They were genorous enough to invite me to dinner with them.  There could be no better gift than food and human interaction as these are two things a solo canoe trip will make one crave.  The men from Grand Rapids fed me steak, corn on the cob, homegrown greenbeans, potato salad, and pudding. This dinner gave me a new sense of appreciation for whole foods and these gifts of nourishment and community were much appreciated and have lifted my spirits to a new high.

Thanks September Pack and Paddle Crew!

“The only gift is a portion of thyself.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

